16-22 The Polygon Southampton SO15 2BN

Tickets: 02380 361970

Home » Events » NEWMAN | Blood Red Saints

NEWMAN | Blood Red Saints


After an initial few years playing in bands and being disillusioned by record company interest and band conflicts Newman was formed in 1997 by Singer/Guitarist Steve Newman. He enlisted the help of Mark Mulholland (Drums) and William Marshall (Bass) for the first self titled album which was subsequently released through Point Music in Germany that following year. 

In 1999 Newman signed to Escape Music for a four album deal which spawned the albums "One Step Closer”, "Dance In The Fire”, "Sign Of The Modern Times” and "Heaven Knows”. The first of which saw the title track "One Step Closer” chart in Japan. Those albums established Newman as one of the top UK rock bands with a reputation for producing well crafted melodic rock. 

In 2006 Steve parted ways with Escape Music and formed his own label Chrome Dome. Later in 2007 "Primitive Soul” was released to great reviews around the globe and was followed in 2008 with the double CD "Decade”. The first CD charting the bands career so far and adding a second CD of unreleased material. Steve then worked towards re-establishing the live band by recruiting Neil Richardson (Guitar), Paul Boyle (Keyboards), Nic Lipscombe (Drums), and Terry Horne (Bass). In 2009 the band played Z Rock Festival and supported John Waite on his UK Tour.

2010 saw the release of " The Art Of Balance", which not only raised the bar sonically it also proved again that Steve Newman has a talent for producing quality hook laden, melodic rock. This release went on to become one of the most successful albums of Steve’s career receiving high praise and spending a great deal of time in the top ten of most AOR and Melodic Rock mail order sites. 

The band, with new bassist Dave Bartlett played various shows to support the new album including the Cambridge Rock Festival and, shortly after enlisting the talents of new Guitarist Shaun Bessant,  the band were asked to play at the prestigious Firefest Festival that year and a CD/DVD was recorded and released in 2011 .

2011 also saw Newman sign to AORHeaven and the release of "Under Southern Skies"  a more reflective album dealing with Steve's loss of both of his parents in 2010. Later in 2011 the band continued to perform at more festivals including a return to Firefest after the US band Far Cry were unable to perform and this momentum was to carry on into 2012 with further succesful live appearances.

At the beginning of 2013 Nic Lipscombe stepped down from the drum throne due to family commitments to be eventually replaced by Pete Newdeck. The true follow up to "TAOB" was released in 2013, "Siren" had all the hallmarks of it's 2010 predecessor once again combining powerful hooks with crunching guitars and a big production, it also featured two songs co written by Pete Newdeck. The live band went out in support of this album playing dates in the UK,Europe and the US to great acclaim.

2014 saw the re-release of the first album and further touring into Europe and a UK tour with Vega. 

In 2015 AORHeaven announced the release of "The Elegance Machine", Newman's latest album which once again received (and continues to receive) overwhelming praise from fans and critics alike. 

2016 will see the band once again perform in Europe, some selected festivals in the UK before embarking on their first headline mini tour of the UK in September.

During this time Steve has also been very busy as a studio writer/producer/engineer and has worked with/for, among others,Frozen Rain, WildKard, Eden, Atlantic, House Of Lords, Robin Beck, Terry Brock (Strangeways, Michael Bolton), Crunch, Frederik Slama’s AOR Project, Steve Overland (FM), Far Cry, Phenomena, Paris, Toby Hitchcock (Pride Of Lions, Jim Peterik Survivor), Goran Edman (Yngwie Malmsteen)

Live Band:

Steve Newman : Vocals, Guitar
Shaun Bessant : Guitar, Vocals
Dave Bartlett : Bass, Vocals
Paul Boyle : Keyboards, Vocals
Pete Newdeck : Drums, Vocals


Newman (1998)  
One Step Closer (1999)
Dance in the Fire (2000) 
Sign of the Modern Times (2003)    
Heaven Knows (2006) 
Decade (2008)    
The Art Of Balance (2010) 
Another Step Closer - Live 2010  
Under Southern Skies (2011)    
Siren (2013)  
Newman 2014 (2014)    
The Elegance Machine (2015)    

weblink:  www.newmansound.com